Art Dreaming

I’ve been talking about changes and how we handle them.  My ultimate release of stress and anxiety is art.  Right now almost all of my stuff is still boxed up from a recent move, however, maybe I will get brave and show you some of my stuff.  Sometime.

What do you do to release stress?  My husband plays video games.  Yes, he is 53 and he plays video games.  I don’t get upset about it because it does help him deal with stress.

My daughter-in-law is an athlete.  For her running is how she releases stress and feels good.

See how happy she looks when she is running?!

That is the kind of joy that art gives me!  I love to take something that was blank and create something out of it. It doesn’t have to be perfect.  Art is subjective.  As long as the artist feels his or her bliss, then it IS perfect.

I got the same amount of happiness from sewing clothes for my kids.  I took a bunch of fabric and actually made something functional from it!  It was even fun after my kids outgrew it and gave it to the neighbor kids.  I loved seeing them wearing it too!

Over the last 15 years of working and being a single mom I forgot how much joy I get out of creating.

Last night I woke up from a dream about creating artwork.  All sorts of artwork!  I laid there and I didn’t want to get up because I felt like I was being encircled in arms of comfort.  For me it was a reminder of what is inside of me.

When was the last time you did what made you feel that accomplished?  I’m not talking about your day to day work.  I mean the thing that nags at your soul.  When did you last play that musical instrument that is gathering dust?  When did you last dig in the garden?  Or throw some clay on the pottery wheel?  When did you take time for just you and your family?

Will today be remembered?  Or will it just be one of a million countless days that you said, “Someday…”?

Excuse me… I have some boxes to go dig through.

Leave a Reply

