Gratitude

Six months ago I married my sweetheart.  We did the whole 11/11/11 thing.  We thought it was kind a neat opportunity.

So this is a picture of us.  Isn’t he handsome?  I sure think so!

I wanted the world to know how grateful I am for such a good man!  My sweetheart works 10 hours a day, 6 days a week.  He has an hour commute, one-way.  He comes home and works in the yard and is willing to help with dinner if I need it.  What more could I ask for?

A few years ago when I was freshly divorced, and facing the world as a single mom, a friend did a huge favor for me.  She introduced me to a Gratitude Journal.  Someone had given her one when she was first divorced.  She knew that it brought about a huge change in her perspective.  It did the same thing for me.

A Gratitude Journal is an idea from a book called Simple Abundance by Sarah BanBreathnach.  The idea being that you write five things in it every night that you are thankful for from that day.  At first it was not that easy.  I was mired in self-pity and overwhelmed with taking care of my family.  So I took on the challenge of being grateful.

Some days all I could be thankful for was that the work day was over and all the kids were in bed.  Then as I paid attention to the things that were going on around me I found more and more things to be thankful for.  One day (and I will never for get it) I was driving to work on a particularly foggy day.  The sun broke through in one place and it was glorious!  If I had not been paying attention I would have totally missed it.

Whether we feel blessed or burdened is mostly in our own minds.  A lot of our disappointments come from life not meeting up to this imaginary standard that we created.

A lot of divorces come from one partner feeling disillusioned.  Marriage just isn’t what they envisioned it to be, so… another generation grows up without the benefit of both parents in the home.

So back to gratitude.  I have the most amazing mate.  We speak each other’s language.  I think that is very important.  He makes me laugh!  He makes me smile!  Sometimes I just shake my head and say, “What am I going to do with this man?”  And I love him with all of my heart!  He is the other half of my soul.  I thank God for bringing him into my life.

Who, or what are you grateful for today?  Try to think of three things before you go to bed tonight.  Write them down so you can look back at them later.  It is amazing how it can change how you see things.

2 thoughts on “Gratitude

    • I know it sounds trite, but when the time is right, you will find the one. I’ve been divorced, more than once. In between I did a lot of work on who I am. I told my mom when I first got divorced that I’d rather be alone than wish I was. So when you meet the one who you would rather be with more than being alone, you know you have a winner.

Leave a Reply

