Father’s Day

Father’s Day is a day that used to make my heart ache.  My children grew up most of their lives without their Dad in the home.  I had a Dad who was pretty abusive when I was growing up.  I’ve tried very hard to find peace about all of these things over the years.

Today I heard someone say that when he was 14 his Dad was a complete idiot!  By the time he was 21 he was amazed at how much his father had learned!  I’m a fair bit older than 21 and I keep seeing my parents with new eyes as I age.

I have a pretty good relationship with my dad at this point in life.  He has softened somewhat in his old age, as we all tend to do.  I can have conversations with him and enjoy them.

My stepdad, who we call Pops, has taught me about love!  He is such a good man!  When I called him to tell him happy Father’s Day today, he called me ‘sweetheart’.  Oh, how that touches my heart!  I remember at my youngest son’s wedding I looked over at my ex-husband.  Pops put his arm around me and said, “He doesn’t know what he’s missing.”  Pops is not a man of many words, but he always says the right ones!  I always know that he loves me!

Fathers are so important in our lives.  When the father enters the room a child feels protected.

My dad taught me some core beliefs that I hold to still today.

He taught me some things I swore I would never do to my children.  Which in a way is also effective.

Whatever you experienced with your father as you grew up, I hope that today you have a strong male example in your lives to look up to and love.  If you are a father I hope you are striving to set an example you hope your children will remember with love.

Leave a Reply

