What we find beautiful

The other day I saw some pictures a friend of mine posted from Yellowstone Park.  I thought instictively of how beautiful the area is.  I grew up around there.

Then I wondered if other people find it all that beautiful.  It is pretty dry and brown.  It’s not the green lush area that I live in now.

My hubby and I are growing a cactus garden.  (His idea)  Most of our cactus came from starts that his mom gave him.  It is kind of fun to watch him enjoy watching these plants grow, bloom and divide.

A few years ago a friend and I went on a cross-country trip with 5 kids in tow.  It was amazing!  We had so much fun!

I loved seeing the country first-hand.  The further east we went, the greener it got.  Upstate New York is beautiful!  New York City is crowded.  The taxi divers, delivery drivers and everyone else on the roads honked at each other even when no one could move.

On the way back we spent three days in Nauvoo, Illinois.  It was great to see.  It was hot and muggy and there were the biggest bugs by the river.  It was like being dive bombed by helicopters instead of a mere bug!

As we came into western Nebraska and eastern Wyoming my heart started to beat a little faster.  The terrain was brown and the brush was dry.  I saw a couple of antelope and I thought, “I’m almost home!”

As a kid I thought my mom was one of the most beautiful woman I’d ever seen.  (still do)  She has blue eyes and skin that tans.  I have brown eyes and freckles.

A while back an aunt of mine said that I have hands like my mom’s.  I was first startled and then I smiled.  I have always loved my mom’s hands.  I am happy to have hands like hers.

I think that the things we love most are seen as beautiful in our eyes.  So I smile when I see our little cactus garden.  It is a reminder of where we both came from.

Leave a Reply

