Whose kitchen is this anyway?

Have you ever had one of those moments when you are cooking dinner, the kids are under foot, the phone is ringing and the doorbell rings?  I think most of us have had that at some point or another.

My hubby and I have a unique situation.  He works six days a week, 10 hour days.  So he is pretty tired when he gets home.  Having been a single dad he is used to getting home and cooking dinner.  I am used to working all day and coming home to an empty house and eating something I cook in the microwave.  So to put it plainly, he is a better cook than I am.  It has been so many years since I had people to cook for that I just don’t do it as well. I have some recipes that I make very well, but it is limited.

Honestly, I hate cooking.  I don’t mind it occasionally.  The everyday grind of cooking is not fun though. If we didn’t have to eat or sleep just think of how much more we could get done.  No dishes to do.  No groceries to buy.

However, I know that the most important time of the day is when the family is sitting around the dinner table.

My hubby has some specific ways he likes his food too.  Vegetables and pasta need to be al dente (to the tooth).  No soggy food!  He is also very good about using up what is in the fridge.  Me, not so much!  I kind of throw something together.  My kids used to clean out my fridge and find some very interesting biological experiments growing in there.  Who knows, I could have invented some new form of penicillin.

So we have found that as I try to get used to being a stay-at-home mom again, and take care of my family, we have a clash.  Dear hubby is so quick to tell me what to cook sometimes that I don’t even get a chance to decide on a menu.  There are days that I don’t really mind his suggestions.  He has a wider variety of food ideas.  I’m just having a struggle feeling like I’m independent in any way at all.

So whose kitchen is this anyway?  Maybe we need a menu that is predetermined so that I don’t get so frustrated.

Pinterest makes it that much more challenging.  There are always great recipes on there!  Do people eat like that every night?  I’m already over-weight.  If I make all those recipes I would be SO HUGE!  I’m still tempted to make each recipe and review it.  What do you think?

Well I tried the recipe from Pinterest for a Lemon Blueberry Cheesecake.  It was FABULOUS!  We have our own blueberry bushes, so I picked the berries and put fresh blueberries on the cheesecake.  It was so good!  The lemon in the cheesecake was the perfect amount.  Not too strong and not too mild.  Miss E even ate it!  She hates blueberries.

So that is my little review for that recipe.  YUMMY!  Check it out here .  If I can make it and have everyone love it, anyone can!

One thought on “Whose kitchen is this anyway?

  1. I have been handling plan b my entire life, so we are kindred spirits. I also don’t like to cook. My idea of a dream house is one without a kitchen, so I couldn’t believe it when you expressed my exact sentiments:
    “Honestly, I hate cooking. I don’t mind it occasionally. The everyday grind of cooking is not fun though. If we didn’t have to eat or sleep just think of how much more we could get done. No dishes to do. No groceries to buy.”

Leave a Reply

