There’s a chameleon in my garden!

Did you know that there is a chameleon in your garden?  I have found the most versatile vegetable.  It is zucchini!  I know it’s a squash which scares some people, but it is amazing!

A few weeks ago I made zucchini pickles.  They taste just like sweet pickles.  Yesterday I made zucchini pineapple.  It is really good!

It has been years since I canned, but this summer has been really fun!  We have done 60 quarts of green beans, 27 pints of relish, 7.5 pints of pickled figs, 9 pints of zucchini pickles, 24 pints of jam, 3 quarts (and two pints so technically 4 quarts) of sandwich pickles, and 10 pints of zucchini pineapple.

The tomatoes are coming on now but a bunch of them have blossom end rot.  Does anyone know how to stop that?

We have a yellow variety that is as big as the beefsteak variety.  They are absolutely delicious!  I slice them up and eat them plain.

When I was a kid I hated tomatoes!  I remember my parents taking me to a family around the block to babysit me.  Their son hated lettuce.  So when they fed us salad I would give him my tomatoes and he gave me his lettuce.

When I was a kid, and mom fed us tomatoes, my dad always told us the same joke.  “There was a family long ago who had never seen tomatoes and didn’t know if they were good or not. The parents told their children to never eat them.  Little Billy had a stuttering problem whenever he got excited. One day Tommy decided to eat one of these red fruit.  Billy ran crying in to his mother, and all he could spit out was, “Mommy, Mommy, Tom ate O.”  And that is how the tomato got it’s name.”  We always laughed and groaned and shook our heads at that one.

Parents are like that we love to tell our corny jokes and make our children groan!

What jokes or stories do you remember your parents telling?

2 thoughts on “There’s a chameleon in my garden!

Leave a Reply

