Neurotic Dog vs New Year’s Eve

Clock and fireworksI have talked about our neurotic dog, Athena, before.  She CANNOT handle explosions, banging, thunder and especially fireworks.

WARNING* If you are easily grossed out do not read further.

So last night was New Year’s Eve.  Hooray for 2013!  At midnight hubby was gone picking Miss E up from a dance.  Which left me, the poodle, Rusty, and Athena alone at home.

Now, I know exactly when midnight came even though I didn’t have the TV on.  Athena went ballistic!  She crawled behind the full length of the couch and hid under the end table.  I got her out of there and told her to go to her kennel.  She went the opposite direction.  The phone rang.  I went to see who it was and lost track of Athena.  It didn’t take long though to find out where she had gone.

I must say that the Heavens were looking down on me at about this time.

I heard her scratching at the bathroom door and whining like a two cats in a fight.  She had gone into a dark bathroom, apparently got the door shut in her frenzy, and was begging to be released.

Here is where it goes from bad to worse.

I opened the door just to be knocked flat by this horrendous smell…

You remember watching horror movies when the victim goes into the monster’s living quarters and you yell at the screen, “No, no, don’t go in there!” ?  Well this was one of those moments.

The scene was like nothing I could have anticipated or ever, ever desired to see.  There was dog poop on the floor.  There was dog poop on the cabinets.  There was dog poop on the wall.  The towels and pajamas that Miss E left on the floor were covered in dog poop.  It looked like a scene from The Exorcist.  I had a thought that maybe the Mayans just got the date wrong.

I slammed the door leaving the aforementioned neurotic dog locked in with her accomplishment.

At this point it was all I could do to keep from losing my lunch!

I called Dear Hubby and told him what I had found and that I wasn’t going to clean it up!

However, I couldn’t stand the smell or the panicking dog for 45 minutes until he got home… so I took off my socks and ventured in.

What happened after that… and the language used… are not appropriate for all audiences.

In the end Athena emerged freshly washed.  The floor was mopped.  The walls were washed.  The cabinets were scrubbed down.  Miss E’s clothes were in the washer.  The window was open and the bathtub got bleached.

Now to say this was a “crappy” beginning to a new year is an understatement.  Thankfully today has been much better!  Whew!

So Happy New Year to you and yours!  I hope your New Years Eve was better than ours!  😀

4 thoughts on “Neurotic Dog vs New Year’s Eve

Leave a Reply

