Unexpected Windfalls

035I think that when I write the word “windfall” we all probably think of money.  It is after all something that we all need.  However, there are other languages that we speak.  I speak paint.  😀

Years ago (15 or more) I had a huge collection of acrylic paints… hundreds.  However, I was in the early years of being a single mom. I worked 60 hours a week and tried to keep up with four wonderful children.  Painting took a back seat and eventually no seat at all.  So I had the paint but no time.  Eventually the paints dried up and I threw them all away.

Now I have time but I had minimal acrylic paints.

I found an ad on Craigslist for paints.  A lady was getting ready to move and so she was getting rid of all of her paints.

Now, I have not counted them, but there are at least 200 tubes of paint.  I got it all for $60.  She added a fistful of paintbrushes as well.  I nearly passed out!

There is something about imagining the possibilities when I look at this much paint.  It lights a little excited place in my chest.  I get butterflies in my stomach and my heart beats a bit faster.  I feel a little younger and more alive.

When I was in high school I had an art teacher who was always on us to put more greens and yellows in the skies of our landscapes.  It drove me crazy!  One day a fellow student got so frustrated that when the teacher left the room he threw a fit.  He grabbed a tube of yellow and one of green and took the brush as he said, “I’ll show you more greens!  I’ll show you more yellows!”  He jabbed the paintbrush into the paint and globbed the colors in the sky of his painting.  He was an excellent artist so we all gasped that he was doing this.  The teacher came back in and looked at his picture.  She said, “Now that’s more like it!”

Art is subjective, like most things in life are.  It all depends on a person’s preferences and opinions.

A few years ago my Dad drew a picture of a Navajo Indian woman that is just beautiful.  It has all of us kids vying to get it when he dies.  (I think my sister, Kathy, gets it.)  Anyhow, it is nice to see where my artistic drive came from.

It’s hard to put yourself out there and let others see your work.  Especially when you are a perfectionist.  You risk someone that you care about, telling you that it’s no good.

I think that there are a lot of things in life that are scary to share with the people we love.  We are afraid of judgment or rejection.

So I waxed a bit philosophical, which I hadn’t planned on doing, but I hope you enjoy reading my musings.

I’m going to be enjoying my new windfall this week!  Ah the smell of fresh paint!  Life is great!

One thought on “Unexpected Windfalls

Leave a Reply

