The Gift that keeps on giving

When I was a kid I was one of those quiet, nerdy types.  I pretty much stayed to myself and a small group of friends.  I was a latch key kid before they ever called it that.  Both of my parents were gone during the day and I came home to an empty house.

I found solace in books.  When you open a book you enter a whole new world.  You can be anything or go anywhere.

In 5th grade my teacher had a contest of some sort.  I don’t recall if I took 1st, 2nd or 3rd.  What I remember is the prize.

Algonquin My teacher, Mrs Rubel, gave me a book called “Algonquin the story of a great dog”.  Oh my goodness I was so excited to get that book!  I think looking back that I drove my poor teacher nuts that day.  I was so delighted that I actually won a prize.  I’m sure my eagerness was a bit distracting

“Mrs Rubel, when will you be giving out the prizes?”

“After recess now go take your seat.”

“Which recess?  Morning or afternoon recess?”

“Afternoon recess, now go take your seat.”

I sat wiggling in my seat trying to concentrate on my work until it was finally time.  I think it was one of the longest days in history.  The clock must have been ticking in reverse.

At last I got my prize.  I opened it slowly because I knew that as soon as I opened it that anticipation was over.  When I saw that it was a book about a dog I thought for second that she must have mixed my prize up with a boy’s.

When I read the book though I loved it!

Now Mrs Rubel wasn’t my favorite teacher.  My favorite was Mrs Klug.  She was my 3rd grade teacher.  She left us part way through the year to go have a baby.  The thing that I loved about her was that she read to us.  She read “James and the giant Peach”, “Charlotte’s Web” and “Where the Red Fern Grows”.  I loved story time!  It was so fun to be taken away in the adventures.

When I was young, we had a Book Mobile that came around and we could check out books.  It was a library on wheels.

The love of reading has been a gift that has kept on growing in my life.

Last week I had the privilege of going with my daughter and two grandsons to the library.  I remember taking her and her brothers countless times to the library when they were little.  We would scour the shelves for just the right books to take home and enjoy.

My little grandson found a Transformers book and he was so excited!  Because you know, Transformers are the coolest things ever!

My stepdaughter asked me to get some books for her.  I found the teen section and browsed around until I found a couple I thought she might like.

We live outside the city limits so we had to pay for a card.  I think it is worth it though.  Just to see a smile on my grandson’s face as he held his book tightly to his chest.

At this point I think I own more books than I will ever have time to read, but I love it!  There is a certain comfort in holding a good book.

I own a kindle now and read plenty of books that way too.

William Nicholson said, “We read to know that we are not alone.”  I love that!

Of course there is a great quote by Dr Seuss, “The more you read, the more things you will know.  The more you learn, the more places you will go.”

I hope that everyone shares the love of reading with those they love.

Leave a Reply

